UNESCO World Heritage Sites of Sri Lanka

With an astounding eight UNESCO World Heritage Sites – more than Egypt with its ancient tombs, sphinxes and great pyramids - it is little wonder that Sri Lanka is known as the ‘Pearl of the Indian Ocean’.
Six of the eight are ancient cultural sites and mark some of the most important events and accomplishments of Sri Lanka’s two thousand year history. The other two are natural wonder which boast some of the highest bio-diversity found anywhere in the world.
Sri Lanka’s eight UNESCO World Heritage Sites are:
Ancient City of Polonnaruwa
Ancient City of Sigiriya
Golden Temple of Dambulla
Old Town of Galle and its Fortifications
Sacred City of Anuradhapura
Sacred City of Kandy
Horton Plains
Sinharaja Forest Reserve
During your holiday to Sri Lanka you’ll get to experience the massive historic monuments, ancient ruins, hidden temples and a gigantic rock fortress touching the clouds. These World Heritage Sites demonstrate and represent Sri Lanka’s rich past and civilization.

The Cultural Triangle

The most dramatic and colossal of Sri Lanka’s World Heritage Sites are located within the region known as the Cultural Triangle, an area of the island encompassing the ancient capitals of Kandy, Polonnaruwa and Anuradhapura.

The cities are still active today making visiting them a cultural filled experience. Visitors to the cities will still witness the religious murmurations of the Buddhist monks and their steadfast devotion, bringing the historic capitals and all their ancient wonder back to life.

The astonishing and enduring delight of Sri Lanka is it manages to pack so much culture and natural wonder into such a compact island!

Looking for
something special?

Some Truly Unique Holidays with

Sri Lanka Highlights

We are specialists in arranging Tailor-made holidays and tours to Sri Lanka. Let us create the perfect tailor-made tour for you.We also specialize in creating unforgettable family holidays and tours in Sri Lanka.



Sri Lanka ranked top country
for travel in 2019